A Royal Affair (En Kongelig Affære)

Image

This was a random Netflix pick about 4 days ago. I don’t recommend starting this one right before bed (my mistake) as it is a whopping 2 hours and 17 minutes, but it was well worth the 3 days it took for me to watch it (I was busy….)

I didn’t expect it to be a foreign film as it is advertised as “A Royal Affair” but seconds after it started subtitles appeared in replacement of the dutch that was on the screen to set the stage. But let me tell you… The Dutch language was GLORIOUS to listen to. It rolled off the actors tongues like the smoothest, purest, dark chocolate. 

I tend to love anything that is a period piece… but that in combination with Royal people and THE ENLIGHTENMENT on the horizon. Oh, this set the stage for a very potentially sexy plot!

A Royal Affair is set in 18th-century Denmark. The whole story revolves around Caroline Mathilde (Alicia Vikander) who has an arranged marriage to the (wack job) King Christian VII (Mikkel Boe Folsgaard). She leaves her beloved England with great hopes and positivity to travel to Denmark, but the King is not all he is cracked up to be and neglects his young queen. As their marriage crumbles, the King is forced to get help for his failing mental condition. Caroline, subsequently falls in love with Christians German physician, Dr. Struensee (Mads Mikkelsen) an intellectual and advocate of the enlightenment…

OH THE PASSION.

It was truly a beautiful film. Some notable features…

The Costumes: incredible. Beautifully crafted and on point for the era.

Lighting: Oh My Goodness. Brought out the beauty of the costumes and the exquisiteness of Alicia Vikander (who holy moly was gorgeous, in an understated, classic way). 

Plot: Heartbreaking. I actually think it was based on a true story… some speculation I’m sure… But VERY creative. The relationship between Dr. Struensee and Christian was actually the most interesting. Although I cared deeply for Caroline and Dr. Struensee… The complexity of their relationship was simply an affair… Though a tasty one, and well deserved for poor neglected Caroline!!!!!

Acting: The three main characters were fabulous. Incredibly believable. I actually have to give kudos to Mikkel Boe Folsgaard who played Christian, the King. He absolutely took hold of his role and KICKED ITS ASS! I completely believed his character and admired his skills throughout. He was such an asshole, but there was still compassion, as his character clearly had a tortured mind. He found, developed and projected his character amazingly. Best acting I’ve seen in a while.

I don’t want to underplay anyone else as Caroline and Dr. Struensee knocked it out of the ball park too. I felt so sad and hurt for Caroline in her sad life as a royal, where she seemed to be so alone. I also loved how Dr. Struensee was so controlled and quiet… the perfect character to swoop in on an unhappy wife 😉

I really loved the film and if you like 18th Century pieces, injected with passion, heartache and murder…I would definitely recommend it!

Here is the trailer:

 

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Films, Music and Everything Else In-between

Leave a Reply

